Skip to Page's ContentSkip to Main Site NavigationSkip to Section NavigationSkip to Site Utility NavigationSkip to Site Search
Stand In header

Center for Spiritual Formation and Evangelical Spirituality 

Director, Fellows & Pastoral Advisors


Nathan A. Finn serves as the director of The Center for Spiritual Formation and Evangelical Spirituality. He has published widely on topics related to Baptist Studies, Christian spirituality, ecclesiology, and the history of missions. He serves as an elder at First Baptist Church of Durham and teaches adjunctively in the Ph.D. program in Biblical Spirituality at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.


Fellows of The Center for Spiritual Formation and Evangelical Spirituality are Southeastern Seminary faculty and staff members who work with the director in helping The Center fulfill its mission. Because The Center is interdisciplinary, we are blessed that our fellows bring a variety of academic backgrounds, scholarly interests, and ministry experiences to bear on our work.

Drew Ham is director of the Office of Discipleship and Spiritual Formation at Southeastern Seminary

Greg Mathias is associate director of international missions for the Center for Great Commission Studies at Southeastern Seminary

Chuck Quarles is professor of New Testament and biblical theology at Southeastern Seminary

Steven Wade is associate professor of pastoral theology and coordinator of field ministry at Southeastern Seminary

Keith Whitfield is associate vice president for institutional effectiveness and faculty communications and assistant professor of theology at Southeastern Seminary

Pastoral Advisory Board

The Center for Spiritual Formation and Evangelical Spirituality desires to maintain a close connection with local churches. To that end, the Pastoral Advisory Board provides counsel to the director and fellows to assist them in implementing The Center’s mission. Members of the Pastoral Advisory Board represent a variety of ministry contexts and types of local Baptist churches.  

Jason Dees is the senior pastor of Valleydale Church in Birmingham, AL

Robby Gallaty is the senior pastor of Brainerd Baptist Church in Chattanooga, TN

Dhati Lewis is the lead pastor of Blueprint Church in Atlanta, GA

Ronjour Locke is the pastor of First Baptist Church of Brooklyn, MD

Josh Reed is the pastor of Oaks Church in Raleigh, NC

Juan Sanchez is the preaching pastor of High Pointe Baptist Church in Austin, TX

Justin Wainscott is the pastor of First Baptist Church of Jackson, TN

Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
  • Post Office Box 1889
  • Wake Forest, NC 27588
  • Phone: (919) 761 - 2100
Our Mission
  • Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary seeks to glorify the Lord Jesus Christ by equipping students to serve the Church and fulfill the Great Commission.
Copyright © Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary | Design and Development: Beacon Technologies
print logo